DHUBRI BAR ASSOCIATION

Dhubri Bar association was formed in the year 1880(Circa) by a handful Lawyers. Many legal luminaries such as Late A. Majid Jia Sams, Late Sarat Ch. Sinha, Ex-C.M., Assam, Late Jahanuddin Ahmed, Ex-M.P., Late T.C. Mazumdar, eminent Criminal Lawyer, Late Syed Ahmed Ali, Ex-M.L.A & Minister, Late J.N. Chatterjee, eminent Civil Lawyer, Late Dinesh Ranjan Sarkar, fonder Principal Dhubri Law College, Giasuddin Ahmed, Ex-Deputy Speaker, Assam Legislative Assembly and many more, adorned it since the time of its inception. It has a historical and glorious past. Many member of this association during the British ear and even after independence played their leader like roles for the cause of social interests and its movement. Members activities of the Dhubri bar association are highly praise-worthy. Legal learning with awareness and legal acumen amongst the member being cultivated traditionally has earned statewide reputation. It has produced many legal giants even till date. Dhubri bar association was once the torch-bearer for litigants and oppressed people of five districts viz., Dhubri, Kokrahjar, Goalpara, Bongaigaon, Chirang before fragmentation of erstwhile Goalpara District. This Association is intimately connected with justice delivery system. It is situated on the bank of the river Brahmaputra with scenic beauty. It has its own two-storied own building with a good library up to the standard. It has more than 15,000(fifteen thousand) various types of journal and Law books for the members. Dhubri bar association has its own constitution being adopted in its year 1935 and repealed by a new constitution on the day of 17th December, 2008, and headed by N.I. Choudhury and U.K. Sarkar, President & Secretary of the Association respectively. It has more than 300 members in active practice.