## **Lawyer's Association Bongaigaon**

In the year 1981, Bongaigaon was a small town under the undivided Goalpara District having district headquarters at Dhubri and Bongaigaon was not even a sub-Divisional town and was under the then Boitamari Revenue Circle. But considering the commercial improtance and being a fast growing town of the entire area and also considering the increasing number of litigations and litigants public on and around the locality [particularly the criminal cases/litigation] under the then Bongaigaon, Abhayapuri, Bijni, Sidli, Jogighopa and Dhaligaon Police Station, the Government of Assam as well as the Hon'ble Gauhati High Court decided to establish a Court of Judicial Magistrate 1st Class at Bongaigaon to despense justice (particularly the criminal justice) at the door steps of the litigant public of the area and the Court of Judicial Magistrate 1st Class was opened, which was inaugurated on 25th September, 1981 by the then Hon'ble Mr. Justice D. Pathak, Hon'ble Chief Justice of Gauhati High Court and the court started its funtioning in a small rented House and Mr. Kamal Kumar Das was posted as the first Judicial Magistrate 1st Class for Bongaigaon having territorial jurisdiction over the then Bongaigaon, Dhaligaon, Sidli, Abhayapuri, Bijni, Jogighopa Police Stations.

Being a small town though there was no proper infrastructure to open and run the Court of Judicial Magistrate at Bongaigaon at that time, but with the blessings of the public of Bongaigaon and adjoining areas, the functioning of the Court of Judicial Magistrate 1st Class run successfully in providing justice towards the litigant public.

Immediately after the inauguration of the Court of Judicial Magistrate at Bongaigaon the Lawyer's Association, was also formed with a few advocate members under the Presidentship of S. N. Brohmo Choudhury and Md. Hussain Ali was the first Secretary of the Lawyer's Association, Bongaigaon. Sri Bijoy Choudhury, Md. Kasem Ali (since deceased), Paresh Chandra Das (since deceased), Sri P. C. Bhowal, Jayshree Bauah, A. K. Roy, Dilip Kumar Das (since deceased), Akmal Hussain were the members of the Lawyer's Association at the time of its establishment. Initially, the advocates from Dhubri Bar Association and Goalpara Bar Association used to come to Bongaigaon and some of them started to stay at Bongaigaon permanently and doing their legal profession here at Bongaigaon.

In the course of time, the undivided Goalpara district bi-furcated giving rise to Dhuburi, Goalpara, Kokrajhar, and the Bongaigaon was fallen under the jurisdiction of Goalpara District having a district headquarter at Goalpara. Then considering the increasing number of civil litigations of the locality the Hon'ble High Court decided to set up another Court of Munsiff - cum - Judicial Magistrate 1st Class at Bongaigaon and in the year 1987, the Court of Munsiff was inaugurated by the Hon'ble Mr. Justice (Retd.) K. N. Saikia, the then Chief Justice of the Hon'ble Gauhati High Court. Initially, the Court of Munsiff was functioning three days a week, and the remaining three days the Court dispending criminal justice being the Court of Judicial Magistrate 1st Class. Mr. Santosh Kumar Adhikary was placed as the first Munsiff - cum - Judicial Magistrate 1st Class at Bongaigaon. Ever since,

## **Lawyer's Association Bongaigaon**

the number of the Bar has also increased substantially and the present strength of the members of the association has come to 144.

In the meantime, Bongaigaon became a District Headquarter, and the Court of Chief Judicial Magistrate, Bongaigaon was established in the year 1990 with Mr. Mahendra Prasad Hazarika as the first Chief Judicial Magistrate. Thereafter the Court of District & Sessions Judge was established in the year 1992 and Mr. R. P. Handa was placed as the first District & Sessions Judge for the Bongaigaon District. Apart from these courts, four other Judicial Courts viz. the Court of sub-Divisional Judicial Magistrate (Sadar), Court of Civil Judge & Assistant Sessions Judge, Court of Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate and the Court of Additional District & Sessions Judge (Fast Track) has been established gradually. Apart from the normal functioning of the aforesaid courts the presiding Officers of the Court of District & Sessions Judge was entrusted with additional charges being the Member of Motor Accident Claims Tribunal, President, District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, for the entire Bongaigaon district and dispensing the justice towards the litigant public of the locally at the active assistance and cooperation of the member of the Lawyers Association, Bongaigaon.

Initially, the functioning of the Courts and the Office of the Lawyers Association was under small rented premises without having sufficient, but in the middle of the year 2009 the newly constructed Court building was opened accommodating all the courts, offices, and accommodation of the members of the Lawyers Association along with their office have been arranged in the premises of the newly constructed court building. But still, there are some deficiencies but the members of the Association believe that these deficiencies be overcome shortly with the proper, positive mutual understanding and cooperation amongst the members of the Bench and Bar.