#### The Hailakandi District Bar Association is:

- (1) Registered under The Assam Advocates Welfare Fund Act-1998 (Assam Act No. XVIII of 1999) vide certificate No. 36/2007 dtd. 24/02/2007 (2) Affiliated by All Assam Lawyers' Association, Guwahati vide Certificate of Affiliation dtd.19/11/2008.
- (3) Member, Barak Valley Lawyers' Co-ordination Committee.

## **Permanent Address:**

The permanent office and address of District Bar Association, Hailakandi is the Dist. Bar Library building just adjacent eastern side of Court compound within the boundary of D.C.'s establishment, Hailakandi, Assam.

The Phone & Fax No. of the Association is: 03844-222272 E-mail:- barhailakandi@gmail.com

# The Foundation: Hailakandi Bar Library

The foundation of the Hailakandi Bar Library was in the year 1920 with the following members those who exercises the power of Member Secretary chronologically up to Dec.1935 in the Member Secretary system committee of the Bar Library.

## The Founder Members Of The Bar

- 1. Babu Girish Chandra Chakrabarty
- 2. Babu Chandra Kanta Guha Takhur
- 3. Babu Bani Kishore Singh
- 4. Babu Prayag Kishore Duttagupta
- 5. Mlvy. Abdul Matlib Mazumder

#### **Constitution of Hailakandi Bar Association**

The Hailakandi Bar Association is established in the compound of District & Sessions Judge Court, Hailakandi. It was adopted on the year 05.12.1978 and it came into force from the year 1st January 1979. In 1979, Shri J.M.Dhar(B.L) was the first president of the Hailakandi Bar Association. Shri A.R.Barbhuiya(L.L.B) was the secretary and Shri.U.K.Das(L.L.B) was the Asst. Secretary of the Hailakandi

Bar Association. The current President, Vice — President, Secretary , Asst. Secretary and internal Auditor are as follows:

President	Jamir Uddin Laskar. Mobile No9435179822
Vice –President	Abdul Haque Laskar. Mobile No9435460904
Secretary	<b>Afzal Hussain Laskar.</b> Mobile No9435179185
Asst.Secretary	Abdul Malik Mazumder. Mobile No9859187715
Joint Secretary	<b>Joynul Islam Choudhury.</b> Mobile No9435219278

## **Chronological list of Secretaries since 1936**

- 1. Sri Ganga Charan Biswas (Jan/1936 Jan/1942)
- 2. Sri Nagendra Nath Dey (Jan/1942 exp.07/12/1946)
- 3. Sri Haro Sundar Chakrabarty (11/04/1947 25/09/1954)
- 4. Sri Kunja Bihari Chakrabarty (25/09/1954 28/01/1956)
- 5. Sri Mohendra Chandra Bhattacharjee (28/01/1956 30/11/1959)
- 6. Sri Deboprasad Das Purakasytha (01/12/1959 11/10/1964)
- 7. Sri Keshab Chandra Chakraborty (11/10/1964 01/07/1969)
- 8. Md. Hasan Raja Laskar (01/07/1969 06/07/1977)
- 9. Md. Abid Raja Barbhuiya (06/07/1977 resigns on 26/12/1980)
- 10. Md. Hasan Raja Laskar (04/01/1981 11/01/1994)
- 11. Sri Ujjal Kumar Das (11/01/1994 08/03/1995)
- 12. Md. Safi Ahmed Laskar (08/03/1995 11/05/1999)
- 13. Md. Abdul Munim Laskar (11/05/1999 04/06/2011)
- 14. Sri Ahmed Ali Laskar(04/06/2011 01/01/2016)
- 15. Sri Afzal Hussain Laskar (01/01/2016 onwards.)