

## **SUPREME COURT OF INDIA**

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended the names of nine Additional Judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad for appointment as permanent Judges of that High Court in the following terms:

- (i) Shri Justice Syed Qamar Hasan Rizvi,
- (ii) Shri Justice Manish Kumar Nigam,
- (iii) Shri Justice Anish Kumar Gupta,
- (iv) Ms. Justice Nand Prabha Shukla,
- (v) Shri Justice Kshitij Shailendra,
- (vi) Shri Justice Vinod Diwakar,
- (vii) Shri Justice Prashant Kumar,
- (viii) Shri Justice Manjive Shukla, and
- (ix) Shri Justice Arun Kumar Singh Deshwal.

On 28 May 2024, the Collegium of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad unanimously recommended the Additional Judges whose names are set out above for appointment as permanent Judges of that High Court. The Chief Minister and the Governor of the State of Uttar Pradesh have concurred with the recommendation.



In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, the Judges of the Supreme Court conversant with the affairs of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad were consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the above-named Judges for being appointed as permanent Judges.

A Committee of two Judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium has assessed the judgments of the above-named Additional Judges.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for their appointment as permanent Judges, the Collegium has scrutinized and evaluated the material placed on record including the opinion of the consultee-colleagues and the reports of the Judgment Assessment Committee.

Bearing in mind all aspects of the above proposal, the Collegium is of the view that S/Shri Justices (i) Syed Qamar Hasan Rizvi, (ii) Manish Kumar Nigam, (iii) Anish Kumar Gupta, (iv) Ms Nand Prabha Shukla, (v) Kshitij Shailendra, (vi) Vinod Diwakar,



(vii) Prashant Kumar, (viii) Manjive Shukla, and (ix) Arun Kumar Singh Deshwal, Additional Judges, are fit and suitable for being appointed as permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri Justices (i) Syed Qamar Hasan Rizvi, (ii) Manish Kumar Nigam, (iii) Anish Kumar Gupta, (iv) Ms Nand Prabha Shukla, (v) Kshitij Shailendra, (vi) Vinod Diwakar, (vii) Prashant Kumar, (viii) Manjive Shukla, and (ix) Arun Kumar Singh Deshwal, Additional Judges, be appointed as permanent Judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad against the existing vacancies.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

(B R Gavai), J

13 August 2024