Judicial Setup

JUDICIAL SETUP

The Name of Taluks and Courts functioning in each Taluk

There are six taluks in the Kollam Revenue District viz.

- 1. Kollam
- 2. Kottarakkara
- 3. Pathanapuram
- 4. Kunnathoor
- 5. Karunagappally
- 6. Punalur

Details of existing courts in Kollam Taluk

There are 19 courts functioning in the Kollam Taluk Head Quarters.

- 1. The District and Sessions Court, Kollam
- 2. The Addl.District and Sessions Court-1, Kollam
- 3. The Addl.District and Sessions Court-2, Kollam
- 4. The Addl.District and Sessions Court-3, Kollam
- 5. The Addl.District and Sessions Court-4, Kollam
- 6. The Addl.District and Sessions Court-5, Kollam
- 7. The Addl.District and Sessions Court-6, Kollam
- 8. The Motor Accidents Claims Tribunal, Kollam
- 9. The Family Court, Kollam
- 10. The Prl. Sub Court, Kollam
- 11. The Addl. Sub Court, Kollam
- 12. The Prl. Munsiff Court, Kollam
- 13. The Addl. Munsiff Court, Kollam
- 14. The Chief Judicial Magistrate Court, Kollam
- 15. The Judicial Magistrate of the First Class Court-I, Kollam
- 16. The Judicial Magistrate of the First Class Court-II, Kollam
- 17. The Judicial Magistrate of the First Class Court (Temp), Kollam

18. The Honorary Special Judicial Second Class Magistrate Court (Petty), Kollam

19. The Honorary Special Judicial Second Class Magistrate Court (Railway), Kollam

District and Sessions Court

There is a Principal District and Sessions Judge and six Additional District and Sessions Judges in Kollam District. These Courts are invested with original, appellate and revisional jurisdiction both in Civil and Criminal matters. Two Fast Track Special Courts are working in Kollam District. The Additional Sessions Court for trial of Abkari cases functioning at Kottarakkara is established on 7.1.2005. Special Court for the Trial of SC/ST (POA) Act Cases, Kottarakkara is working at Kottarakkara. The Principal and Additional District Courts are found as Rent Control Appellate Authority. The District Court deal with civil appeals for a valuation upto 20 Lakhs.

All the above courts, except the Motor Accidents Claims Tribunal, Kollam, Family Court, Kollam, Addl.District and Sessions Court-3, Kollam, Judicial Magistrate of the First Class Court (Temp),Kollam, Hon'y Second Class Magistrate Court (Petty Offences) and Railway Magistrate Court are located in the Civil Station Building, Kollam. The Motor Accidents Claims Tribunal is functioning in a building of Kerala Water Authority on the western side of the Civil Station Building, Kollam. The Family Court and the Addl.District and Sessions Court-3, Kollam are functioning at Kottamukku which is about 1KM away from the Civil Station. Railway Magistrate Court is functioning in a building attached to the Railway station, Kollam. Special Magistrate Court for Petty Offences, Kollam is functioning in a rented building on the eastern side of the Civil Station.

The Hon'ble High Court conferred upon the undermentioned Munsiffs the powers of a Judicial Magistrate of the First Class to try offence u/s 138 NI Act.

- 1. Prl.Munsiff, Kollam/Judicial Magistrate of First Class-III
- 2. Addl.Munsiff, Kollam/Judicial Magistrate of First Class-IV
- 3. Munsiff, Kottarakkara/Judicial Magistrate of First Class-III
- 4. Munsiff, Punalur/Judicial Magistrate of First Class-IV
- 5. Munsiff, Karunagappally/Judicial Magistrate of First Class-II

The District Court, Kollam have a Computer Cell and a well equipped library.

Judicial Service Centre (JSC)

A Judicial Service Center attached to Computer Cell, District Court, Kollam was inaugurated by the then District Judge Sri.P.D.Rajan on 1/1/2013. Three computer terminals have been provided at JSC for online filing of Civil Cases of District Curt, Kollam, I Addl.District Court, Kollam, II Addl.District Court, Kollam, II Addl.District Court (Adhoc-II), Kollam, Addl.District Court (Adhoc-III), Kollam, Prl.Sub Court, Kollam, Addl.Sub Court, Kollam, Prl.Munsiff Court, Kollam and Addl.Munsiff Court, Kollam. Litigants can file their Civil cases through JSC and transferred online to court concerned. JSC provide any information regarding Civil and Criminal cases (next posting dates, generating cause list, Police Station details etc.) to the litigants.

Kottarakkara

There are six courts functioning at the Court Complex, Kottarakkara which is situated near Thrikkannamangal viz

- 1. The Family Court, Kottarakkara
- 2. The Addl.Sessions Court for Abkari Act Cases
- 3. The Sub Court, Kottarakkara
- 4. The Munsiff Court/JFCM-III, Kottarakkara
- 5. The Judl.First Class Magistrate Court-I, Kottarakkara
- 6. The Judl.First Class Magistrate Court-II, Kottarakkara

Special Court for the Trial of SC/ST (POA) Act Cases, Kottarakkara is working in a separate building near Civil Station, Kottarakkara

Punalur

- 1. The Motor Accidents Claims Tribunal, Punalur
- 2.Fast Track Special Court, Punalur
- 3. Sub Court, Punalur
- 4. The Munsiff Court/JFMC-IV, Punalur
- 5. The Judl.First Class Magistrate Court-I, Punalur
- 6. The Judl.First Class Magistrate Court-II, Punalur
- 7. The Judl.First Class Magistrate Court-III, Punalur

Karunagappally

The following courts are functioning at Karunagappally

- 1. Fast Track Special Court, Karunagappally
- 2. Sub Court, Karunagappally
- 3. Munsiff Court/JFCM-II, Karunagappally
- 4. Judicial I Class Magistrate Court-I, Karunagappally

Kunnathoor

One Munsiff-Magistrate Court is functioning at Sasthamcotta the head quarters of Kunnathoor Taluk.

Paravoor

The Munsiff-Magistrate Court is functioning at Paravur

Chavara

The following courts are functioning at Chavara

- 1. Family Court, Chavara
- 2.Gram Nyayalaya, Chavara

Temporary Judl.I Class Magistrate Courts

Five Temporary Judl.I Class Magistrate Courts are established as per the 13th Finance Commission recommendations.

- 1.Judl.I Class Magistrate Court (Temporary), Kollam
- 2.Judl.I Class Magistrate Court (Temporary), Chavara
- 3. Judl. I Class Magistrate Court (Temporary), Sasthamcotta
- 4.Judl.I Class Magistrate Court (Temporary), Paravur
- 5.Judl.I Class Magistrate Court (Temporary), Kadakkal

Grama Nyayalayas

Chadayamangalam Block

In 2008, the Government of India enacted Gram Nyayalayas Act 2008 to provide for the establishment of Gram Nyayalayas at the grass roots level for the purpose of providing access to Justice to the citizens at their door steps. The first among the State of Kerala, Gram Nyayalaya at Chadayamangalam is established on 20.2.2016 and is working in the Chadayamangalam Block Panchayath premises.

Perinad Block

Gram Nyayalaya, Chittumala at Perinad is working in at block panchayath building at Perinad