# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

#### **RAJYA SABHA**

## **UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2182**

### TO BE ANSWERED ON THURSDAY, THE 04.08.2022

### Plan to establish High Court benches

## 2182. SHRI HARNATH SINGH YADAV: SHRI VIJAY PAL SINGH TOMAR:

Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government is planning to establish High Court benches in various States including the State of Uttar Pradesh;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the criteria adopted/formalities required by Government for the establishment of these benches; and
- (d) the details of the States where such benches have already been established so far?

#### **ANSWER**

### MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE

### (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a) to (d): High Court Benches are established in accordance with the recommendations made by the Jaswant Singh Commission and judgment pronounced by the Apex Court in W.P.(C) No. 379 of 2000 and after due consideration of a complete proposal from the State Government which has to provide necessary expenditure & infrastructural facilities and the Chief Justice of the concerned High Court who is required to look after the day-to-day administration of the High Court. The complete proposal should also have the consent of the Governor of the concerned State.

Requests for establishment of High Court Benches in places other than the Principal Seat of High Courts have been received from various organizations from time to time. At present, no complete proposal from the State Government of Uttar Pradesh regarding setting up of a Bench of the High Court is pending with the Government.

A statement showing list of High Courts along with Principal seat, area of Jurisdiction and details of Permanent Bench(es) along with date of functioning is at **Annexure.** 

\*\*\*\*

## **High Court Benches**

Sl. No.	High Court	Principal Seat	Jurisdiction	Permanent Bench and Date from which the Bench began functioning
1	Allahabad	Prayagraj	Uttar Pradesh	1. Lucknow (01.07.1948)
2	Andhra Pradesh	Amaravati	Andhra Pradesh	High Court w.e.f.1.1.2019
3	Bombay	Mumbai	Maharashtra; Goa; UT of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu	2. Nagpur (01.05.1960) 3. Panaji (01.07.1948) 4. Aurangabad(27.08.1984)
4	Calcutta	Kolkata	West Bengal & Andaman & Nicobar Islands (UT)	Circuit Benches- 5.Port Blair (2.5.1950) 6. Jalpaiguri (7.2.2019)
5	Chhattisgarh	Bilaspur	Chhattisgarh	-
6	Delhi	New Delhi	NCT of Delhi	-
7	Gauhati	Guwahati	Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, & Arunachal Pradesh	7. Kohima,(10.02.1990) 8. Aizawl, (05.07.1990) 9. Itanagar (12.08.2000)
8	Gujarat	Sola (Ahmedabad)	Gujarat	-
9	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla	Himachal Pradesh	-
10	Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh	Jammu & Srinagar	UTs of Jammu &Kashmir and Ladakh	-
11	Jharkhand	Ranchi	Jharkhand	-
12	Karnataka	Bangalore	Karnataka	10. Dharward (24.08.2008) 11. Gulbarga(31.08.2008)
13	Kerala	Kochi	Kerala & Lakshadweep Islands (UT)	-
14	Madhya Pradesh	Jabalpur	Madhya Pradesh	12. Gwalior (01.11.1956) 13. Indore (01.11.1956)
15	Madras	Chennai	Tamil Nadu & Puducherry (UT)	14. Madurai (24.07.2004)
16	Manipur	Imphal	Manipur	-
17	Meghalaya	Shillong	Meghalaya	-
18	Orissa	Cuttack	Odisha	-
19	Patna	Patna	Bihar	-
20	Punjab & Haryana	Chandigarh	Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh (UT)	-
21	Rajasthan	Jodhpur	Rajasthan	15. Jaipur (31.01.1977)
22	Sikkim	Gangtok	Sikkim	-
23	of Telangana	Hyderabad	Telangana	-
24	Tripura	Agartala	Tripura	-
25	Uttarakhand	Nainital	Uttarakhand	-