GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2522

TO BE ANSWERED ON THURSDAY, THE 24.03.2022

States without High Courts

2522. SHRI KANAKAMEDALA RAVINDRA KUMAR:

Will the Minister of **LAW AND JUSTICE** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that even after becoming full-fledged State, some of the States in the country do not have their own High Courts within their States;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether Government has any proposal to set up High Courts in all those States where High Courts does not exist;
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE

(SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a) to (e): The details of the High Courts in the country along with their State/UT wise jurisdiction is placed as **Annexure**.Article 214 of the Constitution of India provides that there shall be a High Court for each State. However, such proposals require consultation with concerned State Government as the States are required to create and provide necessary infrastructure facilities and to meet the expenditure for setting up and running of the High Court. These proposals also need consultation with the concerned High Courts having territorial jurisdiction currently. At present, there is no complete proposal regarding setting up of a new High Courtpending with the Government.

Annexure

NAME OF HIGH COURTS AND THEIR JURISDICTION

Sl. No.	Name of High Court	Jurisdiction	
		States	Union Territories
1	Allahabad	1.Uttar Pradesh	-
2	Andhra Pradesh	2. Andhra Pradesh	-
3	Bombay	3.Maharashtra 4.Goa	 Dadra & Nagar Haveli Daman & Diu
4	Calcutta	5.West Bengal	3. Andaman & Nicobar Islands
5	Chhattisgarh	6. Chhattisgarh	
6	Delhi	-	4. NCT of Delhi
7	Gauhati	7. Assam 8. Nagaland 9. Mizoram 10. Arunachal Pradesh	-
8	Gujarat	11. Gujarat	-
9	Himachal Pradesh	12. Himachal Pradesh	-
10	J & K and Ladakh	-	5. Jammu & Kashmir 6. Ladakh
11	Jharkhand	13. Jharkhand	-
12	Karnataka	14. Karnataka	-
13	Kerala	15. Kerala	7. Lakshadweep Islands
14	Madhya Pradesh	16. Madhya Pradesh	-
15	Madras	17. Tamil Nadu	8. Puducherry
16	Manipur	18. Manipur	-
17	Meghalaya	19. Meghalaya	-
18	Orissa	20. Odisha	-
19	Patna	21. Bihar	-
20	Punjab & Haryana	22. Punjab 23. Haryana	9.Chandigarh
21	Rajasthan	24. Rajasthan	-
22	Sikkim	25. Sikkim	-
23	Telangana	26. Telangana	-
24	Tripura	27. Tripura	-
25	Uttarakhand	28. Uttarakhand	-