रवि इांकर

अध्यक्ष, जनजागरूकता प्रभाग परमाण् ऊर्जा विभाग

Ravi Shankar Head, Public Awareness Division Department of Atomic Energy भारत सरकार

परमाणु ऊर्जा विभाग

Government of India

अणुशकित भवन, छ शि म मार्ग, मुंबई 400 001, भारत



DEPARTMENT OF ATOMIC ENERGY Anushakti Bhavan, C S M Marg, Mumbai 400 001, India

Ref: 13(1)/2017/PAD

May 19, 2017

PRESS RELEASE No. 2/2017

Top Nuclear Scientists of India Welcome Government's Decision to Launch Mega-Project for 10 Indigenous Nuclear Reactors

Hailing the decision of the Central Government to launch 10 indigenous nuclear power reactors as a mega-project, top nuclear scientists of India issued the following statement today:

"We warmly welcome the decision taken by the Government of India on May 17, 2017 approving construction of 10 indigenous Pressurized Heavy Water Reactors (PHWR) with total installed capacity of 7000 MW. It is a timely and bold step taken by the Government under the leadership of Prime Minister Modi with far-reaching dividends.

The decision for constructing reactors in a fleet mode is unprecedented in the history of India's atomic energy programme and demonstrates the determined vision of the present Government to pursue accelerated expansion of nuclear power to ensure the nation's energy security and meet India's clean energy commitments.

As a fully indigenous project, the construction of these most modern PHWRs, which are a proud symbol of our scientific and technological excellence, has sent out a strong message of the robustness of our domestic nuclear programme. It has also created new enthusiasm and optimism among equipment manufacturing industry in India, which is poised to grow in tandem with our programme, bringing India to the frontline of global nuclear manufacturing and supply chain."

- Dr. M.R. Srinivasan
 Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission
- Dr. Anil Kakodkar
 Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission
- Dr. Srikumar Banerjee Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission
- Dr. S.K. Jain
 Former Chairman & Managing Director, NPCIL
- Dr. R. B. Grover Homi Bhabha Chair, Department of Atomic Energy
- Dr. R.K. Sinha
 Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission

RRanshankar

(Ravi Shankar)