## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA DEPARTMENT OF ATOMIC ENERGY **RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No.961** TO BE ANSWERED ON 10.02.2022

## URANIUM EXPLORATION IN ARUNACHAL PRADESH

961 Shri Sambhaji Chhatrapati:

Will the PRIME MINISTER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Atomic Minerals Directorate (AMD) had taken up exploration for Uranium in the State of Arunachal Pradesh sometime ago;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the findings so far; and
- (c) whether similar exploration by AMD has also been planned in some other States?

## ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES & PENSIONS AND PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE (DR. JITENDRA SINGH):

- (a) Yes Sir.
- (b) The Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), a constituent unit of Department of Atomic Energy has been carrying out uranium exploration in the potential geological domains in parts of Arunachal Pradesh since 1969. This led to the identification of a number of small uranium occurrences on the surface, which includeJamiri, West Kameng district, Maro-Baririjo, Upper Subansiri district and Sie- Rimi NokoNala, LaggiGamlin Siki, Tapeyor-Jaiyor and Dupu, West Siang district. Presently, detailed investigations including drilling are under progress at Karkha area, West Kameng district and Ampulli area, Papum Pare district.
- (c) Yes Sir.

AMD is also carrying out exploration for uranium in the following states.

- I. Andhra Pradesh: YSR Kadapa, Guntur and Kurnool districts.
- II. Assam: Cachar, Haliakandi and Hojai districts.
- III. Chhattisgarh: Rajnandgaon, Kawardha, Bilaspur, Korba,MahasamundJanjgir Champa, Balrampur and Raigarh districts.
- IV. Haryana: Mahendragarh district
- V. **Himachal Pradesh**: Una, Hamirpur, Kullu and Mandi districts.
- VI. Jharkhand: East Singhbhum, Garhwa and Dumka districts.
- VII. Karnataka: Yadgir and Kalaburagi districts.
- VIII. Madhya Pradesh: Gwalior, Betul, Balaghat and Sagar districts.
- IX. Odisha: Mayurbhanj, Sundargarh and Jharsuguda districts.
- X. Maharashtra: Gondia and Sindhudurg districts.
- XI. **Rajasthan**: Sikar, Dausa, Jhunjhunu, Udaipur, Bhilwara, Chittaurgarh, Dungarpur, Barmer and Jalore districts.
- XII. Uttar Pradesh: Sonbhadra district

\*\*\*\*