## F. No. 7-10/ 2015-NCMEI GOVERNMENT OF INDIA NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR MINORITY EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS

## Subject: <u>Minutes of the meeting with competent authorities of the State/ UT</u> <u>Governments held on 23<sup>rd</sup> August 2019 from 11:30 a.m. onwards in the</u> <u>Conference Hall of the Commission.</u>

Present: Justice Narendra Kumar Jain, Hon'ble Chairman Dr. Baltej Singh Mann, Hon'ble Member Dr. Naheed Abidi, Hon'ble Member Dr. Jaspal Singh, Hon'ble Member Shri Manoj Kumar Kejrewal, Secretary Representative/ competent authorities of the State/ UT (As per list)

A meeting with the competent authorities of the State/ UT was held under the Chairmanship of Hon'ble Chairman, NCMEI on 23.8.2019 from 11:30 a.m. onwards. The agenda of the meeting was to sensitize the stakeholders about the provisions of the NCMEI Act 2004 and the challenges faced by NCMEI in issue of MSC. List of participants attached.

In his opening remarks, Hon'ble Chairman welcomed all the participants and placed on record words of gratitude for the former Chairman Justice M.S.A. Siddiqui, former and present members and all associated with NCMEI, whose contribution has been crucial in the smooth functioning of the Commission.

He emphasized on the Article 30(1) of the Constitution, which gave linguistic and religious minorities a fundamental right to establish and administer educational institutions of their choice. To safeguard the educational rights of the minorities enshrined in Article 30(1), NCMEI Act, 2004 has been enacted.

Further, he informed that upto 31.3.2018, 13395 MSCs have been granted and out of which, 4659 and 3135 MSCs have been granted to Kerala and Uttar Pradesh, respectively.

He expressed his concern about the lack of data on MSCs granted by the States/ UTs and emphasized on the need of having a uniform mechanism for grant of NOC/ MSC and also exercise due diligence in grant of NOC/ MSC. Further, he stated that the MSC should not be given for a temporary period, which has been reiterated in the judgment of T.K.V.T.S.S. Medical Educational and Charitable Trust vs. State of Tamil Nadu.

Hon'ble Member Dr. Baltej Singh Mann welcomed all the participants and deliberated on the difficulties faced by the Minority Educational Institutions located in remote area and informed about the functions of the Commission and particularly about Section 11 (f), which empowers the Commission to decide all questions relating to the status of any institution as MEI.

While welcoming the participants, Dr. Jaspal Singh, Hon'ble Member, emphasized that regular meetings with the States/ UTs should be held and a robust mechanism to issue NOC/ MSC be put in place.

Secretary, NCMEI gave a detailed presentation about the provisions of the NCMEI Act, 2004 and the challenges being faced by the NCMEI in issue of MSC.

Mr. Shahnawaz Qasim, Director from Telangana sought clarification about NOC and MSC, which was clarified by the Secretary, NCMEI.

Dr. Rajesh Kumar Tiwari, ACS, Higher Education, U.P. thanked the Commission for inviting all the States and raised the issue that MEIs are primarily for the benefit of minorities but the same is not being achieved and a mechanism needs to be put in place so that only bonafide institutions get the MSC. Further, he was of the opinion that for coordination between NCMEI and States/ UTs, a central portal needs to be designed where the States/UTs could upload necessary data and information about the MEIs they are dealing with. He also requested NCMEI to

frame model guidelines for issue of NOC/ MSC and was of the view that there should be proper monitoring of the MEIs which have been granted MSC.

In response, Hon'ble Member Dr. Jaspal Singh stated that the States/ UTs are free to frame their own guidelines as per the local needs and could use the 'NCMEI guidelines' for guidance.

Dr. Y. Ali Akbar Basha from Andhra Pradesh expressed his concern about the petitioner institution approaching directly the NCMEI and bypassing the State Government. In response, the Secretary, NCMEI stated that it is mandatory for the petitioner institution to apply for NOC from the concerned States/ UTs before applying for MSC to the Commission.

Mr. Jagdeep Singh from Punjab enquired whether minority status certificates could be issued to institution run by Sikh community in Punjab. It was clarified that a minority, whether linguistic or religious, is determinable only by reference to demography of the State and not by taking into consideration the population of the country as a whole.

Mr. G.H. Obaidur Rahman from West Bengal sought clarification about the grant-in-aid given to MEIs. In reply, Secretary, NCMEI stated that the NCMEI does not give grant-in-aid/ financial assistance to any institution.

Mr. Vinod Prasad Raturi, Secretary, Higher Education, Uttarakhand raised the issue of prescribing percentage governing admission in MEI. It was clarified that the State Government can prescribe percentage of the minority community to be admitted in the MEI taking into account the population and educational needs of the area in which the educational institution is located. Further, a balance needs to be kept between the two objectives i.e. preserving the rights of the minorities to admit

students of their own community and that of admitting "sprinkling of outsiders" in their institution subject to the condition that the manner and number of such admission should not be violative of the minority character of the institution. Section 12C (b) empowers the State Government to prescribe percentage in the MEI.

The meeting ended with the vote of thanks to the Chair.

## List of participants attended the meeting of Competent Authority on 23<sup>rd</sup> August, 2019

		23 August, 2019
S. No.	State/ UT	Name of participant
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Dr. Ali Akbar Basha VC & M.D. Minority Corporation
2.		Mr. Md. Amjad Ali E.D, Minority Corporation
3.	Bihar	Shri Arvind Kumar Verma Director, Primary Education
4.	Chhattisgarh	Dr. Dinesh Kr. Jha Assistant Commissioner
5.	Haryana	Shri A. Sreenivas, IAS Director Higher Education and Technical Education
6.		Shri Braham Parkash Sub Inspector, SCERT
7.		Ms. Suman
8.		Shri Sunil Basas
9.	Karnataka	Shri Jagadeesh K.H Chief Administrative Officer
10.		Shri K.S. Mani Director, Minority School Education
11.	Madhya Pradesh	Shri Ramesh S. Thete Secretary Madhya Pradesh
12.		Shri Dawood Ahmed Khan Dy. Director
13.	Nagaland	Shri Jyothi Kalash Additional Chief Secretary and Principal Resident Commissioner Nagaland
14.	Orissa	Shri Biranchi N. Mohanty
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

		Director, Elementary Education
15.		Shri M. K. Ray Dy. Director, Secondary Education
16.	Punjab	Dr. Avnish Kumar Director
17.		Dr. Jagdeep Singh Deputy Director
18.		Shri Sukhjeet Pal Singh DPI (SE)
19.		Shri M. P. Arora, IAS Special Secretary, Higher Education
20.	Rajasthan	Dr. Gunjan Soni Addl. Director
21.	Sikkim	Shri Bilal Prabhakar Deputy Director
22.	Tamil Nadu	Shri K. Vivekanandan, IAS Director of Technical Education
23.		Dr. Narayana Babu Director of Medical Education
24.		Shri A. Kauppasay Director of Elementary Education Chennai-6
25.	Tripura	Shri Asu Deb Das Addl. Secretary & Director, MW
26.	Uttar Pradesh	Shri Rajendra Kumar Tiwari ACS, Higher Education
27.		Dr. Abha Gupta Special Secretary, Minority Welfare Department

28.	Telangana	Shri Shahnawaz Qasim Director
29.	Uttarakhand	Shri Vinod Prasad Raturi Secretary (I/c), Higher Education
30.	West Bengal	Shri G. H. Obaidur Rahman Addl. Secretary
31.	Andaman & Nicobar	Shri Kuldip Singh Thakur Joint Resident Commissioner
32.	Chandigarh	Shri Bikram Singh Department of Education
33.		Shri Sunil K. Bedi Asst. Director
34.		Shri S. Kaushik Sr. Asstt.
35.	Daman & Diu	Shri Munilal Patel Asst. Director of Education
36.	Delhi	Ms. Razia Begum Dy. Secretary
37.		Shri Murari Kumar Jha ASO
38.	Puducherry	Dr. Jayanta Kr. Ray Add. Resident Commissioner