

STATE ELECTION COMMISSION, HARYANA NIRVACHAN SADAN, PLOT NO. 2, SECTOR- 17 PANCHKULA, HARYANA – 134109

Website:www.secharyana.gov.in Email id:sec@hry.nic.in

Phone: +91172 258 4810 Fax: +91 172 258 5904

Most Immediate/Date Bound Municipal Election

No.SEC/1ME/2025/999

Dated: 04.02.2025

To

The Additional Chief Secretary to Government of Haryana, Prohibition, Excise and Taxation Department, Chandigarh.

Subject:

General/Bye-Elections of Municipal Bodies in the State --- Prohibition of sale of liquor during elections--regarding.

Sir.

I have been directed to refer to the above subject and to say that the State Election Commission, Haryana has issued notifications for conduct of general elections for the seats of Mayors & Members of all the wards of 08 Municipal Corporations and Presidents & Members of all the wards of 04 Municipal Councils & 21 Municipal Committees (as per list at Annexure -A) and bye-elections of 02 seats of Mayors i.e. Municipal Corporations, Ambala and Sonepat; 03 seats of Presidents i.e. President, Municipal Council, Sohana (Gurugram); Municipal Committee, Assandh (Karnal) & Municipal Committee, Ismailabad (Kurukshetra) and 03 seats of Members i.e. Ward No. 11 of Municipal Committee, Ladwa (Kurukshetra); Ward No. 14 of Municipal Committee, Safidon (Jind) & Ward No. 5 of Municipal Committee, Taraori (Karnal) vide Notification Nos. SEC/1ME/2025/530 and SEC/1ME/2025/581 both dated 04.02.2025 (copies enclosed). As per schedule, nomination papers (except Municipal Corporation, Panipat) shall be presented from 11.02.2025 to 17.02.2025 (except 12.02.2025 & 16.02.2025 being holidays) and in respect of Municipal Corporation, Panipat from 21.02.2025 to 27.02.2025 (except 23.02.2025 & 26.02.2025 being holidays). Poll (except Municipal Corporation, Panipat) shall be held on 02.03.2025 and in respect of Municipal Corporation, Panipat on 09.03.2025. Re-poll if any required, shall be held on 04.03.2025 (except Municipal Corporation, Panipat) and in respect of Municipal Corporation, Panipat on 11.03.2025. Counting of votes shall be held on 12.03.2025 at 8.00 A.M. at the place(s) specified by the Deputy

Commissioner concerned and result shall be declared immediately after the completion of counting.

- 2. In discharge of its sacred constitutional responsibility of conducting and ensuring free and fair elections of the abovesaid municipalities in a transparent and peaceful manner, the State Election Commission proposes to take strict measures to ensure an atmosphere conducive for holding free, fair and peaceful elections reflective of true choice of the electorate.
- 3. For meeting this objective, the State Election Commissioner, Haryana in exercise of powers conferred upon him under section 9 (1) of the Haryana Municipal Corporation Act, 1994 and section 3 A of the Haryana Municipal Act, 1973 and all other powers enabling him in this behalf, hereby directs that the State Government shall declare and notify 'dry days' under relevant laws for such period during general/bye-elections of municipal bodies as are appropriate at or around the areas where municipal elections are to be held. Such period of 'dry days' so declared and notified must include the period of one day before the day of poll, actual date of polling including re-poll, if any and counting day.
- 4. The State Election Commission further directs that:-
 - (I) No liquor shops, hotels, restaurants, clubs and other establishments' selling/serving liquor shall be permitted to sell/serve liquor to any person whosoever may be, on the aforesaid dates.
 - (II) No proprietary clubs, star hotels, restaurants etc. and hotels run by anyone, even if they are issued different categories of licenses for possession and supply of liquor, should be permitted to serve liquors on these days.
 - (III) The storage of liquor by individuals shall be curtailed during the above period and the restrictions provided in the Excise laws on the storage in unlicensed premises shall be vigorously enforced.
 - (IV) Steps shall also be taken to prohibit sale of liquor in adjoining areas of the municipalities where the elections are to be held, so that there are no chances of clandestine movement of liquor from those areas, wherein the restriction has not been in operation.
- In pursuance of the above directions the State Election Commission hereby directs that the above ban must be imposed within the jurisdiction of the areas, where general elections of the municipal bodies are to be held and the areas adjoining to the jurisdiction thereof (except Municipal Corporation, Panipat) on 01.03.2025, 02.03.2025 & 04.03.2025 (only where re-poll is to be held), in case of Municipal Corporation, Panipat & the areas adjoining to the jurisdiction thereof on 08.03.2025 09.03.205 & 11.03.2025 (only where re-poll is to be held) and on the day of counting i.e. 12.03.2025.

6. It is requested that a copy of order issued in furtherance of the above mentioned directions may be sent to the State Election Commission without delay.

Yours faithfully,

Dated: 04.02.2025

Encl:-As above

Asstt. State Election Commissioner for State Election Commissioner, Haryana

Endst. No.SEC/1ME/2025/1000-1039

A copy is forwarded to the following for information and immediate compliance of above orders:-

- Commissioner and Secretary to Government of Haryana, Urban Local Bodies Department, Chandigarh.
- 2. Director General of Police, Haryana, Panchkula.
- 3. Director, Urban Local Bodies Department, Haryana, Panchkula
- All the Deputy Commissioners in the State except Panchkula, Charkhi Dadri and Rewari.
- All Superintendent of Police of the districts in the State except Panchkula, Charkhi Dadri and Rewari.

Asstt. State Election Commissioner for State Election Commissioner, Haryana

							ANNEXURE-
Sr. No.	Name of District Ambala	Name of Municipal Corporations			Name of Municipal Councils		Name of Municipal Committees.
				1.	Ambala Sadar	1.	Barara
2.	Bhiwani					2.	Bawani Khera
						3.	Loharu
						4.	Siwani
3.	Fatehabad			-	-	5.	Jakhal Mandi
4.	Faridabad	1.	Faridabad		-		-
5.	Gurugram	2.	Gurugram	2.	Pataudi Jatauli Mandi	6.	Farukh Nagar
		3.	Manesar				
6.	Hisar	4.	Hisar	-	-	7	Narnaund
7.	Jhajjar		-	-	-	8.	Beri
8.	Jind		-	-	-	9.	Julana
9.	Kaithal		-		-	10	Kalayat
						11.	Siwan
						12.	Pundri
10.	Karnal	5.	Karnal		-	13.	Indri
						14.	Nilokheri
11.	Kurukshetra		-	3.	Thanesar		
12.	Mahendergar		-		-	15.	Ateli Mandi
	h					16.	Kanina
13.	Nuh		-	-	-	17.	Taoru
14.	Palwal		-	-	-	18.	Hathin
15.	Panipat	6.	Panipat				
16.	Rohtak	7.	Rohtak	-	-	19.	Kalanaur
17.	Sirsa		-	4.	Sirsa		-
18.	Sonepat		-	-	-	20.	Kharkhoda
19.	Yamuna Nagar	8.	Yamuna Nagar	-	-	21.	Radaur