

STATE ELECTION COMMISSION, HARYANA NIRVACHAN SADAN, PLOT NO. 2, SECTOR- 17

PANCHKULA, HARYANA – 134109

Website:www.secharyana.gov.in Email id:sec@hry.nic.in Phone: +91172 258 4810 Fax: +91 172 258 5904

Most Immediate/Date Bound

Municipal Election

No.SEC/1ME/2025/904

Dated: 04.02.2025

To

The Chief Secretary to Govt. of Haryana, Chandigarh. (in Political Branch)

Subject:- Deemed Deputation of Polling Personnel, IAS/IFS/HCS Officers and Police Officers who are deputed as Observers & other officers/officials on election duty with the State Election Commission during general/bye- elections of municipal bodies.

Sir.

I have been directed to refer to the above subject and to say that the State Election Commission, Haryana has issued notifications for conduct of general elections for the seats of Mayors & Members of all the wards of 08 Municipal Corporations and Presidents & Members of all the wards of 04 Municipal Councils & 21 Municipal Committees (as per list at Annexure -A) and bye-elections of 02 seats of Mayors i.e. Municipal Corporations, Ambala and Sonepat; 03 seats of Presidents i.e. President, Municipal Council, Sohana (Gurugram); Municipal Committee, Assandh (Karnal) & Municipal Committee, Ismailabad (Kurukshetra) and 03 seats of Members i.e. Ward No. 11 of Municipal Committee, Ladwa (Kurukshetra); Ward No. 14 of Municipal Committee, Safidon (Jind) & Ward No. 5 of Municipal Committee, Taraori (Karnal) vide Notification Nos. SEC/1ME/2025/530 and SEC/1ME/2025/581 both dated 04.02.2025 (copies enclosed). As per schedule, nomination papers (except Municipal Corporation, Panipat) shall be presented from 11.02.2025 to 17.02.2025 (except 12.02.2025 & 16.02.2025 being holidays) and in respect of Municipal Corporation, Panipat from 21.02.2025 to 27.02.2025 (except 23.02.2025 & 26.02.2025 being holidays). Poll (except Municipal Corporation, Panipat) shall be held on 02.03.2025 and in respect of Municipal Corporation, Panipat on 09.03.2025. Re-poll if any required, shall be held on 04.03.2025 (except Municipal Corporation, Panipat) and in respect of Municipal Corporation, Panipat on 11.03.2025. Counting of votes shall be held on 12.03.2025 at 8.00 A.M. at the place(s) specified by the Deputy Commissioner concerned and result shall be declared immediately after the completion of counting.

- 2. As per Section 8D of the Haryana Municipal Corporation Act, 1994 and Section 13D of the Haryana Municipal Act, 1973, the provisions given under Section 28A of the Representation of the Peoples Act, 1951 are to be *mutatis mutandis* applied in the municipal elections. The provisions given under Section 28A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, are reproduced here as under:-
 - "28A. Returning officer, presiding officer, etc., deemed to be on deputation to Election Commission.- The Returning Officer, Assistant Returning Officer, Presiding Officer, Polling Officer and any other appointed officer under this part IAS/IFS/HCS/IPS/HPS officers appointed as Observers and all other officers/officials/police personnel connected with election duty shall be deemed to be on deputation with the State Election Commission for the period commencing on and from the date of notification calling for such election and ending with the date of declaration of the results of such election. Accordingly, such officers/officials/police personnel shall, during that period, be subject to the control, superintendence and discipline of the State Election Commission".
- 3. In view of the above, I have been directed to request you to bring these provisions into the notice of all concerned for information and strict compliance.

Yours faithfully,

Dated: 04.02.2025

Encl:-As above

Asstt. State Election Commissioner for State Election Commissioner, Haryana

Endst. No.SEC/1ME/2025/905-925

A copy of above is forwarded to the following for information and necessary action:-

 Commissioner and Secretary to Government of Haryana, Urban Local Bodies Department, Chandigarh

2. Director, Urban Local Bodies Department, Haryana, Panchkula.

 All the Deputy Commissioners in the State except Panchkula, Charkhi Dadri and Rewari.

Asstt. State Election Commissioner for State Election Commissioner, Haryana

							ANNEXURE-
Sr. No.	Name of District	Name of Municipal Corporations			Name of Municipal Councils		Name of Municipal Committees.
2.	Bhiwani					2.	Bawani Khera
						3.	Loharu
						4.	Siwani
3.	Fatehabad			-	-	5.	Jakhal Mandi
4.	Faridabad	1.	Faridabad		-		-
5.	Gurugram	2.	Gurugram	2.	Pataudi Jatauli Mandi	6.	Farukh Nagar
		3.	Manesar				
6.	Hisar	4.	Hisar	-	-	7	Narnaund
7.	Jhajjar		-	-	-	8.	Beri
8.	Jind		-	-	-	9.	Julana
9.	Kaithal		-		-	10	Kalayat
						11.	Siwan
						12.	Pundri
10.	Karnal	5.	Karnal		-	13.	Indri
						14.	Nilokheri
11.	Kurukshetra		-	3.	Thanesar		
12.	Mahendergar		-		-	15.	Ateli Mandi
	h					16.	Kanina
13.	Nuh		-	-	-	17.	Taoru
14.	Palwal		-	-	-	18.	Hathin
15.	Panipat	6.	Panipat				
16.	Rohtak	7.	Rohtak	-	-	19.	Kalanaur
17.	Sirsa		-	4.	Sirsa		-
18.	Sonepat		-	-	-	20.	Kharkhoda
19.	Yamuna Nagar	8.	Yamuna Nagar	-	-	21.	Radaur