## PANCHAYAT GENERAL ELECTIONS

## PRESS NOTE

**Panchkula, the** 14<sup>th</sup> June, 2010 : Sh.Dharam Vir , State Election Commissioner, Haryana stated that the election programme for the 4th Panchayat General Elections of 8 districts namely Panchkula, Yamunanagar, Karnal, Panipat, Rohtak, Hisar, Gurgaon and Rewari for the election of 2112 Sarpanches and 20,169 Panches of Gram Panchayats, 980 Members of Panchayat Samiti and 130 Members of Zila Parishad has been issued today. The Election programme to the above said Panchayati Raj Institutions is as under:-

## TIME SCHEDULE

	<u></u>		
(a)	Date on which notices shall be published by District Election Officers (Panchayat) in Form 2 or 3, as the case may be, for inviting nominations under rule 24 of the Haryana Panchayati Raj Election Rules, 1994	21.06.2010 (Monday)	
(b)	Period of making nomination under rule 24(a).	22.06.2010(Tuesday) to 24.06.2010(Thursday) (9.30AM to 04.00 PM)	
(c)	Date by which information shall be furnished by the candidate that he/she is not suffering from any disqualification in the format prescribed, to the Returning Officer (Panchayat)	25.06.2010(Friday) Before 10.00 AM	
(d)	Date of Scrutiny under rule 24 (b)	25.06.2010 (Friday) From 10.00 AM to 04.00 PM	
(e)	Date of Withdrawal under rule 24(c)	28.06.2010 (Monday) (Upto 04.00 PM)	
(f)	Preparation of list of contesting candidates under rule 32 and allotment of symbols for elections under rule 33	28.06.2010(Monday) (immediately after the expiry of the period of withdrawal of candidature)	
(g)	Date of Poll( if required) under rule 24(d)	06.07.2010(Tuesday)(1 <sup>st</sup> phase) and 10.07.2010(Saturday)(2 <sup>nd</sup> phase.	
2.	Sh. Dharam Vir further added that the General Elections of the PRIs of		

2. Sh. Dharam Vir further added that the General Elections of the PRIs of Panchkula, Gurgaon, Rohtak and Panipat districts shall be held in one phase on July 6, 2010. The election of other four districts namely Karnal, Rewari, Yamuna Nagar and Hisar shall take place in two phases as under :-

Sr.No.	Name of District	Name of Block of First Phase on 06.07.2010	Name of Block of Second Phase on 10.07.2010
1.	Karnal	Assandh, Nissing and Gharaunda	Indri, Karnal and Nilokheri
2.	Yamunanagar	Bilaspur, Chhachhrauli, Sadhura	Jagadhari, Mustfabad, Radaur
3.	Hisar	Hansi-1, Hansi-2, Narnaund, Uklana, Barwala	Adampur, Agroha, Hisar-1, Hisar-2
4.	Rewari	Rewari, Jatusana	Bawal, Khol, Nahar

3. In addition, election of Gram Panchayats of Siwanmal and Naya Gaon Siwanmal of Safidon block of district Jind shall take place on July, 06 2010. 4. Sh. Dharam Vir further added that in order improve the pace of polling the time of polling has been increased by an hour and now the polling time will be from 7.00 AM to 04.30 PM and counting of votes for elections to Panches and Sarpanches shall be held immediately after the close of poll and for elections to Members of Panchayat Samiti and Zila Parishad the counting shall be on 12.07.2010 at 8.00 A.M. In case of repoll, the Commission may modify the counting schedule appropriately.

5. Sh. Dharam Vir further added that the General Election of Gram Panchayat Uklana Mandi of district Hisar and of Gram Panchayats of Radaur, Chhachhrauli and Sadhaura of district Yamunanagar shall not be conducted as the tenure of these Gram Panchayats will expire later, but the voters of these Gram Panchayats shall exercise their votes to elect the members of Panchayat Samiti and Zila Parishad. He also added that about 35,04,276 voters of above mentioned 8 districts would exercise their right of franchise in the 4th General Elections of Panchayati Raj Institutions.

6. Shri Dharam Vir has also informed that the limit on the expenditure that may be incurred by the contesting candidates or his authorised election agents in connection with the elections is as under :

(i)		Panch (Member of Gram Panchayat)	Rs	5,000-00
(ii)	(a)	Sarpanch of a Gram Panchayat having upto 15 Wards.	Rs.	15,000-00
	(b)	Sarpanch of Gram Panchayat having more than 15 Wards.	Rs.	25,000-00
(iii)		Members of Panchayat Samiti	Rs.	50,000-00
(iv)		Members of Zila Parishad	Rs.1	,00,000-00

7. Sh. Dhram Vir further added that a candidate filing the nomination paper in the office of Panch/Sarpanch/Member Panchayat Samit/Zila parishad shall have to deposit an amount in Government Treasury or sub Treasury or with the Returning Officer(Panchayat) in cash, as under, as the case may be:-

Seat	General	SC/BC
Panch	<b>Rs.100/-</b>	<b>Rs.40/-</b>
Sarpanch	Rs.200/-	Rs.100/-
Member Panchayat Samiti	Rs.300/-	Rs.150/-
Member Zila Parishad	<b>Rs.400/-</b>	<b>Rs.200/-</b>

8. Sh. Dharam Vir also added that election of the seats of Sarpanches in all these 8 districts would be conducted by the use of EVMs for which approximately 8,000 EVMs would be required. EVMs would be taken from the Chief Electoral Officer, Haryana.

9. The Model Code of Conduct in respect of the Panchayat Elections shall come into force from today i.e. 14.06.2010 in the districts going for poll. No

Officer/Official connected with the election work shall be transferred till the completion of election process, he added.

10. He further added that the Financial Commissioner & Principal Secretary, Government of Haryana, Development & Panchayats Department has informed vide his Memo No. ECA2-2010/14160 dated 07.05.2010 that the Hon'ble Punjab and Haryana High Court while hearing a bunch of petitions on 28.04.2010 ordered that the result of the Panchayat elections shall be subject to the final result of the Civil Writ Petition No. 3403 of 2010. Accordingly, the State Election Commission directs that the result of Panchayat elections shall be subject to the final result of the Civil Writ Petition No. 3403 of 2010.