PANCHAYAT GENERAL ELECTIONS

PRESS NOTE

Panchkula, the 7th July, 2010 : Sh.Dharam Vir , State Election Commissioner, Haryana stated that the names of the elected candidates of the Panchayati Raj Institutions i.e. Panches, Sarpanches, Members Panchayat Samitis and Members Zila Parishads of the 13 districts i.e. Ambala, Bhiwani Fatehabad, Faridabad, Jind, Jhajjar, Kaithal, Kurukshetra, Mahendergarh at Narnaul, Sirsa, Sonepat, Mewat at Nuh and Palwal for which poll was held on 06.06.2010 and 12.06.2010 have been notified on 06.07.2010. Those who wish to obtain a copy of notification may download the same from the website of the State Election Commission, Haryana i.e. www.secharyana.gov.in

2. He further stated that the polling for the offices of 13,367 Panches, 1,365 Sarpanches, 670 Members of Panchayat Samiti and 130 Members of Zila Parishad in the 31 blocks of 8 districts i.e. Gurgoan, Hisar, Karnal, Panchkula, Panipat, Rohtak, Rewari and Yamuna Nagar took place on 06.07.2010. In this regard, he added that due to errors in printing of ballot papers, allotment of symbols, clashes between the rival groups, snatching and destruction of ballot papers, Electronic Voting Machines, Ballot Boxes and other election material etc., the repolling in the 30 polling booths of 9 Gram Panchayats of district Hisar, Panipat, Karnal, Rohtak, and Gurgoan, shall have been ordered and repoil shall take place on 10.7.2010. The re-polling on two booths of 2 Gram Panchayats of district Sirsa, where the elections were conducted on 12.06.2010, shall also take place on 10.7.2010. The polling will start at 07.00 A.M. and close at 4.30P.M. He also stated that the counting of votes in respect of Sarpanches and Panches of Gram Panchayats shall take place at the concerned polling stations after the close of poll, whereas in respect of Member Panchayat Samiti and Zila Parishad, the counting of votes shall take place on 12.07.2010.