## **PRESSNOTE**

**Panchkula, the 10<sup>th</sup> June, 2010**:- Sh.Dharam Vir, State Election Commissioner, Haryana announced that as per the time schedule issued by the State Election Commission, Haryana the re-polling in 149 polling stations of districts Palwal, Mewat, Bhiwani, Jhajjar, Kaithal, Faridabad and Sonepat has been conducted peacefully today i.e. on 10.06.2010 under full proof security arrangements.

2. The detail of polling stations and number of villages where re-poll has been conducted today is as under:-

Sr. No.	District Name	Number of Polling Stations	Number of villages
1.	Bhiwani	26	15
2.	Faridabad	5	04
3.	Jhajjar	7	02
4.	Kaithal	3	02
5.	Mewat	44	20
6.	Palwal	63	23
7.	Sonepat	1	1
	Total	149	67

- 3. The re-polling in these districts had been announced due to errors in printing of ballot papers, eruption of violence, snatching and destruction of ballot papers, Electronic Voting Machines, Ballot Boxes and other election material, the poll process at these booths has been vitiated and the poll had not been conducted as per the provisions of the Haryana Panchayati Raj Act, 1994 and Rules framed thereunder and as per directions issued by the State Election Commission from time to time. The re-poll in the above mentioned districts was startedfrom 07.30 AM and closed at 04.00 PM. The re-polling for the offices of Panches, Sarpanches, Member Panchayat Samiti and Zila Parishad at the Polling Stations/Booths already notified. No any incident has been reported from any of the districts. As per the reports received from the districts the polling percentage in district Mewat has been recorded 81.7%, Kaithal 92.97%, Bhiwani 86%, Jhajjar 85%, Sonepat 93%, Palwal, 82% and Faridabad 77%.
- 4. He further stated that the Director General of Police had been asked to make fool proof security arrangements for holding re-poll at the booths especially in districts Mewat and Palwal by deploying Armed Police also and IRB and take stern

action against the persons who indulge in violence and destruction of election material.

5. The counting of votes for the offices of Sarpanches and Panches of Gram Panchayats has started at polling stations after the close of poll and counting of votes in respect of Member Panchayat Samiti and Zila Parishad would held on 14.06.2010 at 8.00 A.M.

C:\Documents and Settings\store.HP28067155953\Desktop\PRESSNOTE 10.06.2010.doc