STATE ELECTION COMMSISION, HARYANA NIRVACHAN SADAN, PLOT NO. 2, SECTOR-17, PANCHKULA PRESS NOTE

Panchkula, 23rd Jan, 2010:- Sh. Dharam Vir, State Election Commissioner, Haryana told that General Elections of Municipal Corporation, Faridabad, 10 Municipal Councils namely Fatehabad, Tohana, Hansi, Jind, Narwana, Thanesar, Narnaul, Palwal, Sirsa, Sonepat and 28 Municipal Committees namely Naraingarh, Charki Dadri, Ratia, Sohana, Barwala, Saffidon, Jhajjar, Gharaunda, Taraori, Assandh, Nissing, Shahabad(M), Ladwa, Pehowa, Cheeka, Mahendergarh, Nuh, Ferozepur Zhirka, Hodal, Punhana, Samalkha, Bawal, Meham, Kalanwali, Ellenabad, Rania, Gohana, Ganaur in the Haryana State are to be held in the month of April/May, 2010. The Commission have issued notification for the preparation/revision of electoral rolls of the above municipalities. The electoral rolls are to be prepared on the basis of Assembly electoral rolls finally published on 22.1.2009 with qualifying date as on 1.1.2009 alongwith all supplements carried out by the Election Commission of India and also the existing rolls of these Municipalities.

Sh. Dharam Vir, further informed that the Deputy Commissioners have been directed that while preparing draft electoral rolls of these municipalities, it should be ensured that names of eligible persons, who have became eligible as on 1.1.2010 be included in the draft electoral rolls of the municipalities concerned.

As per programme, the process for preparation of draft electoral rolls of these municipalities shall be started from 25.1.2010. The draft of the rolls shall be published on 10.2.2010 for inviting claims and objections. It is also further added that all the Deputy Commissioners have been directed to host the draft electoral rolls on the website of the district administration also. Any person can file claims and objections for including/deleting their names in the electoral rolls with the Revising Authority concerned by 20.2.2010. The claims and objections shall be disposed off by the Revising Authority concerned by 25.2.2010. An appeal against the orders of the Revising Authority shall be filed with the Deputy Commissioner concerned by 2.3.2010 and the appellate authority shall dispose off the appeal by 12.3.2010. The final publication of electoral rolls of these municipalities shall be done on 22.3.2010 and all the Deputy

Commissioners have also been directed to host the final electoral rolls on the website of
the district administration.